My current struggle

I wasn’t in a good place the last time I wrote. I’m still not in a good place. Over the past few months, my mental health has taken big, devastating hits and I know I usually come out of hard times unscathed but this time, I don’t think I will. I don’t know if I’m going to be fine. I don’t know if I’m going to survive this. I keep telling myself that maybe this feeling is all in my head and that I’m actually fine. That my brain is tricking me into believing that everything’s not okay. I don’t know. Keeping busy hasn’t helped at all, it helped in the beginning but now… a few weeks ago, I was ready to end it all. It took some nice people and a counselor from MANI to help me stay sane. I felt (and still feel) that nothing was going to get better. I went on google to search if it would be a painful or painless death if I overdosed on sleeping pills and there were suicide hotlines on the first page 🙂 I thought of slitting my wrists but I didn’t want the pain, I wanted a pain-free way out. Maybe that’s a sign that I actually want to live? Or that I’m a coward? I don’t know. There’s a lot of things I don’t know. One of them is what is really going on with me? I know there’s something wrong, I just don’t know what is. Low serotonin levels? I’ve tried medication for that and still…

I feel that this life is not worth living since I’m going to end up dying anyway. Why am I working to have a good life if I can just drop dead at any moment? I’m so worried about going at anytime that I don’t even bother to live anymore, to enjoy my time here. It’s funny, right? On one hand, I want to end my life, and on the other, I’m worried about it ending when I least expect it. Lol some would say it’s a matter of consent, haha.

I have been dealing with this problem for over 5 years now, I don’t know what the problem is, but it’s there. I’ll just say what I always say, “I’m not fine, I don’t know if I’m going to be fine, but I’m going to try.” And if depression wins, know that I fought like hell and it wasn’t an easy fight ❤️

1 Comment

  1. binmahmoon says:

    How you found the courage to drop a hint of humour on a plainly suicidal piece is the silver lining for me. Keep fighting Khadijah. You shall win over the dark veil of depression and even if you die today, it should be a consolation to you that you lived life on your own terms and preferences which is not what many of us can boast about. Whatever you’re battling with, know that someone out there seems light in your struggle and I believe genuinely you will triumph. Cheers to life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment